15 replies to this topic

#1 Xidoo

Xidoo

750 Post Club

• Registered
  • 855 posts
  • LocationAnahuac

Posted 23 April 2011 - 12:48 AM

I was like eight years old when I started using slingshots. I used to shoot to glass bottles, cans and pretty much anything that I could use as a target. Two or three months a year, I would take out my slingshot and use it to shoot with my friends.
I stopped using slingshots for a long time, mainly because I was told that they were "toys" for little kids. Two years ago, I bought me a Daisy slingshot and my desire to have fun with slingshots came back. I started shooting plastic bottles, but I found out that they were very dangerous as one day, I shot at one and the stone bounced back and hit me on the forehead. I had impact glasses on, so I was never worry about my eyes, but still the hit made me aware that plastic bottles are not a good choice as targets.
I started reading about how some of the members of this forum and their shooting practice at home. I read about some members that could use a towel, a t shirt or a piece of carpet to stop the shots behind the target. Most of them used aluminun cans as a regular target for shooting. I started doing the same for practicing at home.
I notice that aluminun cans are way too easy to be distroyed after you shoot at them with a slingshot. I have not a reliable source of aluminum cans and the plastic bottles were just out of the question. I wanted to use something else for target practicing, but I did not know what to use.