noob help.

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Collin Stuefen

Collin Stuefen
  • 1 posts
  • Locationiowa

Posted 16 December 2016 - 01:35 AM

I am new to the hobby and I am trying to get some supply's to make some slingshots to start out with as well as making a sling bow. I have no experience with these and would like advise on materials, as well as if any one has some things they would be willing to sell me to help- me along. I am currently crafting a all maple board cut but have no bands or tubes and I'm not sure what would be best for me. any help would be greatly appreciated.

#2 MikmaqWarrior

MikmaqWarrior

500 Post Club

• Registered
  • 696 posts
  • LocationNova Scotia

Posted 16 December 2016 - 06:07 AM

I am new to the hobby and I am trying to get some supply's to make some slingshots to start out with as well as making a sling bow. I have no experience with these and would like advise on materials, as well as if any one has some things they would be willing to sell me to help- me along. I am currently crafting a all maple board cut but have no bands or tubes and I'm not sure what would be best for me. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Tubes and bands can be purchased at most local drugstores in the physiotherapy section...it's called Theraband and they sell it by the foot...you can purchase it in tube or flat band form.
I make my frames using HDPE or birch plywood...and natural tree forks (which is the cheapest cause it's free)
All I use for tools/materials is a knife, a handsaw, a half round wood rasp, sandpaper, boiled linseed oil, beeswax and a clean lint free cloth.
There are tons of threads on here that can help you...and YouTube is great for info...
Good luck and can't wait to see your builds :)

Sent from my B1-770 using Tapatalk

#3 treefork

treefork

Focus

• +Member
  • 18,512 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 16 December 2016 - 09:49 AM