9 replies to this topic

#1 e~shot

e~shot

~Pouch Maker~

• Gold Sponsor Gold Sponsor
  • 12,555 posts
  • LocationSri Lanka

Posted 21 June 2013 - 11:08 PM

I'm very new to this subject, trying to learn new things with my drill press :)

Hrawk as given me very good suggestions on countersink, center drill bits etc... so, I searched for it, found these useful videos.

Metal drill types

Center Drill

Twist Drilling

Countersinking & Chamfering a Hole

Reaming

Counter-boring a Hole

Spotfacing

Tapping

#2 ash

ash

679 Post Club

• Silver Sponsor Silver Sponsor
  • 2,837 posts
  • LocationAuckland, NZ

Posted 22 June 2013 - 01:01 AM

I have a few issues with the info in the first video.

• The standard twist drill bits he's showing work fine or wood, metal or plastic. Like any knife, sharpening is part of the game, so there's no need to have different bits for each material in most cases
  • "Titanium" drill bits aren't made of titanium, they're made of high speed steel with a coating of titanium-nitride. Once that wears off the cutting edges it's no better than a normal HSS bit.
  • It's not just the tip that does the cutting, its the conical edges that go from the middle to the outside of the drill bit. If there is vibration or you're unsteady, the spiral edges will cut, making your hole oversized, not exactly round or not in the same place you started it.
  • "Cobalt" drill bits are not made of cobalt, it's just high speed steel with a higher than normal cobalt content with allows them to hold their edge under heavy loads, high temperatures and therefore survive drilling very hard materials.
  • The blue-tipped bits he showed are for masonry, not metal or wood.