36 replies to this topic

#1 Gardengroove

Gardengroove

250 Post Club

• +Member
  • 354 posts
  • LocationGermany, Bavaria

Posted 09 April 2012 - 08:56 AM

Hello everybody. This is my first post here, so a quick introduction of myself. I'm 27 years old and i come from Bavaria in Germany. Currently I am studying mechanical engineering which i will finish in March next year. I got my first slingshot (a natural fork banded with office rubber) from my grandpa when I was a kid. As I was writing this I thought it had to be somewhere because I knew I never gave it away. So after fishing in my box with leftovers from my youth I finally found it :)

1_first_slingshot.jpg

The rubber is literally falling apart. No wonder because it lay in the box for about 20 years. The next slingshot I got as a birthday gift when I was around 12 years old. It was a Barnett Cobra banded with tubes. I remember having great fun with it. I had great luck that my dad is a versatile craftsman and that he taught me a lot. I learnt the fundamentals of woodworking and he told me how to operate the tools in our workshop. As time moved on I made my own creations like garden furniture, small tables and benches. Later on I invested in an attachment for my Stihl chainsaw so I can mill my own boards (I have a small forest). For me it is most pleasing when I can do the whole process from the living tree to the finished woodwork by myself.

This is my first work of milling own wood (plum tree) and laminating stripes to make a solid board. That board has no finish on it because I don't know yet what to make out of it ;)
2_plum_board_laminate.jpg